Christmas Memories With Mom

I came across a wonderful blog that I urge everyone to visit: Things I Want To Tell My Mother. The author is hosting a writing contest (how fun!) – Christmas With Mom. In 100 words or less, write about a special Christmas memory with your Mother or Grandmother. Here is mine…

Tradition. Laughter. Love.

The sound of ripping wrapping paper.

The smell of the oranges we always got in our stockings.

The delicate glow of the miniature white candles on her golden angels centerpiece.

The bright colored lights on the tree.

The harmony in her voice of the carols she sang.

The apron she wore.

The tablecloth under the china.

The scent of her perfume.

The joy in her smile.

The touch of her soft hands.

The goodnight kiss as she tucked tired eyes into bed.

 

Mom, I will forever hold these memories, as I can no longer hold your hand.

~~~~~ 

My Mother passed away from Leukemia on December 10, 2006.

About pamelazimmer

Pamela Zimmer is a #1 bestselling author and speaker, transforming her personal pain and experience of Postpartum Depression into her purpose and passion. Through her #1 bestselling book, Reclaim The Joy of Motherhood, and her mentorship program, The HAPPY Mommy Method™, Pamela guides mothers on a healing journey from battling their own Postpartum Depression to embracing motherhood with joy.

Posted on December 4, 2011, in Special Moments and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What beautiful memories of your mother.
    When I got to the end and saw the picture of your mother, I almost cried. A friend’s mother died in my hometown just before Thanksgiving, and the daughter used her nursing graduation picture, wearing her nursing uniform and holding roses. The two mothers had similar, tender, much appreciated qualities, too.

    Thank you for sharing this.
    Your story is entered in the “Christmas Memories With Mom” contest.
    Marylin

    • Thank you Marylin. My sister and I both have that picture of our Mom. Mine is on my nightstand, and I say goodnight to her every night. I miss her, but I know she’s “here” with me.
      Looking forward to reading more of your contest entries too, and to find out who the winner is. Thank you again for this opportunity. It was special for me to write this.
      Happy Holidays! 🙂

Let's talk. I'd love to hear what you have to say!

