I Will If You Will

Yes, bedtime again. The boys are both in their beds, lights out, humidifier, sound machine and glow buddy all on. I used to be SO great at getting those boys in bed and walking out of their room no later than 7:00pm. Not sure what has happened over the past month or two – other than Brayden being sick, and Brayden being extra particular (yep, he gets that from me…).

I finally have them both quiet – well, semi-quiet – and just about comfy-cozy. Zack is tucked into his bed and Brayden and I are rocking in his chair with a blanket and the puppy dog he got from his ER visit a couple of weeks ago. Brayden is actually just about asleep, and I’m just about to put him into his crib, tuck him in and give him one last “I love you, sweet dreams” kiss.

Whack! (Zack slams his arm down over his covers)

I whisper as sternly as possible, “Zack, shh be quiet and go to sleep.” And Brayden whispers an echo, “Zack, be quiet.” Okay – time to start the “quiet down” process again. We’re almost there, Brayden’s eyes are heavy and almost about to stay shut for the night. He’s breathing slow and deep, and his head just starts to slip off my shoulder onto puppy dog. I whisper into his soft little ear, “Okay, ready to go in your crib?”

Whack! “Mommy?”
Ugh! “What?”
“I love you.”
Now what Mother doesn’t love to hear their child say this? “I love you too now stop talking and go to sleep. Good night, sweet dreams.”
“But Mommy…”
“Stop talking!”
“I will if you will.” Oh no, he didn’t just say that did he?
“Don’t you talk back to me!” Yes, I did – I got a little peeved. “I’m only talking to tell you to be quiet and go to sleep.” Deep breath… “I love you, sweet dreams.”
“I love you too.”

Brayden, luckily, stayed pretty still and quiet so getting him into his crib was not too difficult. I figured he was tired after a long day of school and playing out in the sun, hell I would be!

Bedtime was saved. 7:20pm and I walked out of their room (and came directly to my computer so I could capture this before I forgot). It wasn’t the worst bedtime. It wasn’t the best, but it could have been better. I managed to stay calm and regain positive energy and love (that’s what it’s all about anyway, right?), and the boys are now happily tucked into bed, hopefully off to sweet dream land, all comfy-cozy. sleep baby sleep

About pamelazimmer

Pamela Zimmer is a #1 bestselling author and speaker, transforming her personal pain and experience of Postpartum Depression into her purpose and passion. Through her #1 bestselling book, Reclaim The Joy of Motherhood, and her mentorship program, The HAPPY Mommy Method™, Pamela guides mothers on a healing journey from battling their own Postpartum Depression to embracing motherhood with joy.

Posted on March 13, 2013, in General Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hey there, my name is Sheree and I’m a fellow blogger out of St-Lgier, Switzerland. I’m glad to see the work you’re doing on this site. Coming upon I Will If You Will | Stories of a Mom was refreshing and helpful in terms of writing and work. Continue the good work guys: I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I’m sure
    it will boost the appeal of my own blog.

  2. I remember those days and now I’m a grandma and let the games begin again, but I don’t babysit so often at night.

    After a long day, it’s not surprising you get a little peeved. you’re normal.

    • Thanks, Tess. Yep, a long day, no matter how many smiles, and I think I deserve to get peeved every now and then! 😉 But there sure is nothing like the quiet just after they fall asleep. I’m sure your grandkids can cause the same reaction every now and then. Glad to know we’re normal. 🙂

  3. Every parent and grandparent is smiling at this!

    Ssshhhh…sweet dreams.

Let's talk. I'd love to hear what you have to say!

